Prince Zeka, la voix du "makoul"

Prince Zeka est né à Bukavu au Kivu (à l’est de la Rep. Dem du Congo) et descendant du Royaume du Kamituga.

Il a suivi ses études secondaires à l'Institut Lumumba et le début de ses études universitaires à l’Institut Pédagogique National de Kinshasa (IPN). En Europe, il a commencé des études à l’Efec à Bruxelles et puis à l’Université de Vienne.

Prince Zeka vient d’une famille de diplomates, c'est ainsi qu'il a eu la chance de decouvrir les différentes cultures. Au delà de la politique, la culture, l’art et surtout la musique faisaient partie de la vie quotidienne au sein de sa famille. Prince Zeka a ainsi grandi au son de la Rumba Congolaise, considéré comme le précurseur de la Salsa. C'est ainsi que la musique ne cessait de l’attirer et de prendre de plus en plus de place dans sa vie.

Aussitôt Prince Zeka devenait le musicien d’origine africaine le plus populaire et le plus aimé d’Autriche. En 1993 il sort en duo avec Big Baffolo son premier single “I’d love you to want me” (une reprise du hit de Lobo „In the world“), produit par Sony Music Entertainment. Une année plus tard, en 1994, il sort son second single, “Come closer”, produit par Sunshine Enterprises avec le groupe “Groove Injection” de Vienne, qui était alors en tête des hits parades d’acid Jazz en Italie.

En 1995, il signe un contrat avec BMG Autriche et Allemagne dans le cadre du projet "Mc Sultan feat. Prince Zeka" qui a vu naître l’album "Super Ethno Astronaut".

Trois ans plus tard, en 1999, Prince Zeka réalise son premier album solo "M'Zee waka", un album qui lui permet de casser la barrière de la musique internationale pour se faire aussi connaître en Suisse et en Allemagne.

En 2007, il sort son prochain album "Maturité" avec 16 chansons qui expriment bel et bien ce titre: cette musique est unique et magnifique, avec des thèmes matures. Avec son style unique "Makoul" qui peut être aussi classés dans le cadre de la musique du monde, Prince Zeka transporte les messages d'égalité et de la liberté. Il s’engage dans la lutte contre les préjugés demontrant que la music africaine ne soit rien que des bruits rhythmés.

En 2012, il présente son album "Ecoutez", dédié à son pays natal, la R.D C. Dans celui-ci il cherche à exprimer son amour patriotique et àdénoncer les causes qui conduisent ce pays dans le calvaire.

Dans son actuel album "Ma jolie" Prince Zeka fait voir son côté romantique avec des chansons qui parlent de l'amour, que ce soit entre les amoureux ou celui envers Dieu. Avec ces ballades chaleureuses comme "Lovely day one", mais aussi avec "Ma jolie", qui invite tout de suite à la piste, il couvre le spectre musical aussi du reggae comme dans "God is stronger than all" ou la Rumba congolaise dans "Zonga" jusqu'au Zouk dans "Danger d'amour".

Dans sa carrière musicale Prince Zeka a pu présenter sa musique sur le même scène avec les grandes stars et légendes de la musique, telsque: Miriam Makeba, Joe Zawinul, Alpha Blondy, Lucky Dube, Jimmy Cliff, Rita et Ziggy Marley, U Roy, Durlinger, James Brown, Joe Cocker, CeCe Rogers de Jestofunk, Bobby Bird (auteur compositeur de “sex machine”), Lalomie Washburn (chanteuse de James Brown).

Prince Zeka est un musicien et auteur-compositeur très créatif: il a écrit et composé des chansons des differents styles tels que le funk, reggae, rumba congolaise, afro beat, jazz ainsi que la soul. Il appelle sa musique "Le Makoul", un mélange rafraîchissant, de ces différants styles cités si dessus, développés par lui-même en combinaison avec sa voix douce et son timbre souverain et inimitable.

La chose intéressante à propos de sa musique est cette énorme complexité des sons et des rythmes. Il chante en français, swahili, lingala et en anglais. Prince Zeka utilise comme thémes favoris dans ces chansons: l’amour, la paix ainsi que la lutte contre toutes formes d’injustice dans le monde. Avec son engagement humanitaire il a recu 2010 le titre d’„AMBASSADEUR DE LA PAIX“, reconnu par "Universal Peace Federation", une grande organisation pour la paix dans le cadre de l'ONU.

Prince Zeka - Ambassador for peace

Prince Zeka, the new african voice of hope

Prince Zeka was born in Bukavu in Kivu (in the east of the Democratic Republic of Congo) as a descendant of the kingdom of Kamituga.

He followed his secondary education at the Lumumba Institut and his early university education at the National Pedagogical Institute of Kinshasa (IPN). In Europe, he started studying at the EFEC in Brussels, and later at the University of Vienna.

He comes from a family of diplomats which gave him the chance to discover different countries and cultures. Beyond the politics, culture, art and especially music were part of the daily life in the family. Prince Zeka thus grew up to the sound of Congolese Rumba, considered the forerunner of Salsa. The music never ceased to attract him, and he finally decided to concentrate on it full time.

Prince Zeka soon became the most popular and most beloved musician of african origin in Austria. In 1993 he released his first single, a duet with Big Baffolo, "I'd love you to want me", a cover-version of Lobo’s hit “In the world”, produced by Sony Music Entertainment. One year later, in 1994, he released his second single "Come closer", produced by Sunshine Enterprises with the Viennese band "Groove Injection”, which was then in the hit parades of Acid Jazz in Italy.

In 1995, he signed a contract with BMG Germany and Austria on the project "Mc Sultan feat. Prince Zeka" which birthed the album "Super Ethno Astronaut".

Three years later, in 1999, Prince Zeka produced his first solo album "M'zee waka", an album that allows him to break the barrier of the international music and to be also known in Switzerland and Germany.

In 2007, he presented his next album “Maturité” (meaning "maturity"): this music is unique, beautiful and combined with mature themes. With his unique style of "Makoul" that can be classified in world music, Prince Zeka transports messages of equality and freedom. He is committed to a long-overdue appreciation of african lifestyles and addresses in his songs the many aspects of this lifestyle, both the beautiful and inspiring forms of culture, and also the cruel sides of corrupt politics.

In 2012, he presents his current album "Ecoutez", dedicated to his homeland DRC. In this album Prince Zeka is trying to express his love to his country and denounces the causes that led to this enormous suffering.

His new EP "Ma Jolie" - release in nov. 2016 - shows Prince Zeka's romantic side: all of the songs are about love, either the one between lovers, or even that to God. In soulfull ballades like "Lovely day one", but also peppy songs like "Ma jolie" which tempts immediately to dance, Prince Zeka spans the musical spectrum also from reggae as in "God is stronger than all", or Rumba congolaise in "Zonga" to Zouk in "Danger d'amour".

In his musical career Prince Zeka presented his music on the same stage with the biggest stars and music legends, such as: Miriam Makeba, Joe Zawinul, Alpha Blondy, Lucky Dube, Jimmy Cliff, Ziggy Marley and Rita, U Roy, Durlinger, James Brown, Joe Cocker, CeCe Rogers (Jestofunk), Bobby Bird (composer of "sex machine"), Lalomie Washburn (singer of James Brown).

Prince Zeka is a very creative musician and songwriter: he wrote and composed songs in which he blends funk, reggae, rumba Congolese, afro-beat, jazz and soul into a new, exciting mixture, which he calls "Makoul". His warm voice, which embraces tongue-twisting rap and emotional soul with equal versatility, gives his music its unique range of tonal colour.

The interesting thing about his music is the enormous complexity of sounds and rhythms. He sings and raps in French, English, Swahili and Lingala. The favorite themes in his songs are love, peace and the fight against all forms of injustice in the world. With his unique style of “Makoul” he transports messages of solidarity for Africa.

In appreciation of this attitude and his humanitarian commitment he was nominated for “AMBASSADOR FOR PEACE” by the “Universal Peace Federation”, a great peace organisation of the UNO.

Prince Zeka - Ambassador for peace